Skip to content

And the Kitchen

January 11, 2011

Now, how can I post a kitchen project we did recently if no one knows what the kitchen is looking like to begin with? I can’t, duh, so I’ve got to show it! (The same goes for other rooms, obviously–but those will have to wait a bit longer.)

As I’ve mentioned before, we started this blog about half-way through our progress and the kitchen was actually renovated over a year ago.

So the photos I’m showing here are of the updated and extremely stripped down kitchen to showcase its bones. And since I didn’t document its transformation in real-time–consider these the before and just-finished after photos. :) (It’s not normally this sterile–we do actually live here…)

First up is the before:

MLS Listing Photo -- Previous Owner




And here is what it looks like now:

A dining room used to be in this area...

We chose quartz over granite.

It was a long and issue-riddled process: For instance, the countertops got the wrong edging (Ev didn’t notice and let the installers leave–I got home a few hours later and noticed it right away! We got some of the cost refunded because of it, though…) and we lived without a functioning kitchen for a looong time (3 months?). Also, we had to do an emergency replacement of the window over the sink (long story…) Oh well–it’s over now and it’s all good :) Whew!

So now that that’s out-of-the-way, I can start posting about kitchen projects and decorating!! And I have a few

What do you think about our kitchen renovation? Are you a fan of the white cabinet revival trend or are you all about the warm wood tones?

P.S. see our kitchen in the daytime here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cks permalink
    February 7, 2011 7:19 am

    Your kitchen is amazing. I recently designed my own kitchen and it’s very similar: white cabinets, dark wood floors, stainless appliances, it’s such a classic combination. We went with black granite counters, yours are beautiful as well! So now I’m obsessing about a back splash and yours is PERFECT! Where did you find the tiles? Details please!!!

  2. February 7, 2011 6:16 am

    Are you cabinets new or painted? They look off white in the photos. If they are off white I love them.

    My cabinets were painted black last year and I’m itching to change them already. I love your backsplash and countertops. Please post more details. I may totally copy your kitchen someday in the future.

    • February 7, 2011 8:54 am

      Hey guys, thanks so much!

      -The cabinets are indeed off-white (Biscotti from Kraftsmaid–maybe best described as ivory.)

      -The backsplash is made from 12″ x 12″ slate tiles cut into 3″ x 12″ strips. We wanted the subway look, but were too stubborn to pay for the mink-gray subway we had our eye on ($16/sq ft. Ouch!) I believe we got the slate from Lowes (I don’t recall the exact price/sq ft but it was extremely low–$1.20?)

      -Countertops are Silestone (“Bamboo”). It has dark browns, grays, and cream/off-white–very neutral. (But for the record, we ordered a square edge–they messed up and we decided to live with it in exchange for a partial refund. *sigh*)

      Anyway, you can totally copy–what a compliment!

  3. SlA permalink
    January 13, 2011 8:26 pm

    I think it looks great!!!

Leave a Reply

