Skip to content

Gallery Wall

July 11, 2011

We are:

1) Busy tearing the basement apart in hopes we can get it finished soon (within the year = soon.)

2) Annoyed. The sewer backed up a few days ago… I wanted to blame it on the city and make it their problem, but Ev insists it’s OUR problem. Gross. We can still shower and flush if we wait a few hours in between–but it still sucks.

So if one were to really think about it, the basement is an all-around disgusting mess–therefore, let’s not.

Above ground level, I’ve been slowly working on a gallery wall near the entryway. For the time being, I’m filling the frames with prints torn from the pages of an illustrated book about birds (and a bucket and a mop are in a closet just a few feet away, what a coincidence…)



Old illustrated books about birds are all over the place at our local bookstore and I just can’t help myself–they’re subtle and have an abundance green foliage so they work well with the rest of the colors in the house. I also have a few nods to Minnesota mixed in–an old MN license plate I found in a ditch near Lander, WY, (while doing archaeological survey–I don’t just hang out in ditches for fun) and vintage postcards from the Great Lakes area of Northern Minnesota. (Eventually I think I’ll try to put more unique/meaningful stuff in all the frames. Birds who I don’t know are great and all, but…you know?)

There are a few gaps to fill in as evidenced by the “place holders”, but here’s the progress… (please forgive the bright, blinding light, and just think of it as part of the magic–or something.)







Hope you had a great weekend! We found our way up to the mountains…


View from the UW Observatory near Woods Landing, WY





9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 11:10 am

    Hi There! I found your blog on my quest to find paint colors. I am wondering what the paint colors on your walls are. I have a sample of comfort gray painted up on my living room wall. I was hoping for something with a tad tiny bit more green, and I was thinking of austere gray. Though they are on the same SW swatch, I would love your opinion since it looks like from your tags that you have used some of these colors? PS- GREAT blog and remodeling tips. I am loving the black doors!!

    • January 24, 2012 5:54 pm

      Hi, thanks for stopping by! SW6184 Austere Gray, which is what’s on this picture wall (and the rest of our living room/kitchen,) is actually on a different strip than SW6205 Comfort Gray. (It may be that there is a special strip which groups these colors in a “collection,” but its not their original location.)
      So if you look at SW strip# 27, it has has Austere Gray while SW strip# 30 has Comfort Gray. The best way I’ve found to see the true undertone of a lighter color is to look at the darkest colors on the strip–and you’ll see that #27 is definitely more green than #30 if you do this (for instance, SW6187 Rosemary on strip#27 vs. SW6208 Pewter Green on strip#30.)
      I had originally painted these rooms SW6163 Grassland and felt that it was too green and wanted it to be just a tad more blue–so I think Austere Gray strikes the right balance by being green with a touch of blue (vs. blue with a touch of green like Comfort Gray appears.) Hope that helps…Good luck!
      -Stephanie

      • January 24, 2012 8:13 pm

        Thanks Stephanie! I meant to say Escape Gray instead of Comfort Gray (all these grays!!) Do you have any Escape Gray painted in your home, is all the Gray Green that I see Austere Gray? And if so, do you see much difference in the two? Thanks in advance and sorry for the mistake in color names! :)

      • January 24, 2012 10:15 pm

        Haha yes, so many of the colors have “gray” in the name–easily confused.

        I actually had painted our guest bedroom Escape Gray (as seen in the last house tour post–but I don’t think that photo really represents how dark it was) thinking that since this room seems to get more light than the rest of our house, it could handle the slightly darker color and that it would just be a slight, interesting variation on the living room color (trying to keep the number of different colors to a minimum.) However, I found it to be too intense for my tastes and, surprisingly, also looked more blue than the Austere Gray would have suggested, just as you are saying. I thought it might be because it is a west-facing room and the warm cast of the light affected it? “Yellow light + green = blue” type of thing? (I recently ended up re-painting the guest room Techno Gray–my absolute favorite SW color, by the way–so that it would be the same color as our Master bedroom.)

        I think Austere Gray is much more complex than Escape Gray even though they are right next to each other on the strip–sometimes it can look a tad blue, sometimes indescribable gray, but I mostly see subtle green-gray. So much depends on the light in your home and what the color is being compared to, it’s hard to say for sure. But in my personal opinion, once you get into Light Reflective Values below 50 (Escape’s LRV is 40,) the colors become less complex and more saturated–more stubborn. Have you looked at SW6177 Softened Green? I think that would be the next greener-but-still grayish color offered by SW–closer to a true sagey green.

        That’s probably more info than you wanted, but color is such a hard thing to describe that it can raise more questions than answers! :)

        -Stephanie

      • January 25, 2012 8:42 am

        Thank you Thank you SO much, this is such a huge help!!

      • January 25, 2012 10:09 am

        You’re welcome! Thanks again for stopping by :)

  2. Jaime L. permalink
    July 27, 2011 8:00 pm

    Oh why thank you dear! YOU are lovely! The evil creature was my boyfriend. Sick and sadistic. I did pout. A lot. Like…A LOT.

  3. Jaime L. permalink
    July 13, 2011 3:54 pm

    I drove up to the mountains, too! And thought we were car camping! Instead, however, we hiked over a mile through swamps and a place in Vedauwoo called “Jurassic Park” (properly named because the bugs there could have only come from a different era. Mosquitos the size of my eye…I have big eyes).

    My left eye is half way swollen shut to prove all of this.

    PS nice wall! Tell Uncle Dad I say “herro”.

    • July 13, 2011 4:03 pm

      What evil creature lured you into hiking the mountains with the premise of car camping? At times like that, I sit down and pout. You chose the noble road of compliance…and are a better person for it–oh wait, except for the swollen eye! Your eyes are lovely, by the way :)

Leave a Reply

